Back to School and Other Rambles

Hola Amigos

Well, I started back to grad school last Thursday after a nice 3 week hiatus. This semester I’m taking Corporate Finance and Operations & Supply Chain Management. I like both professors, and genuinely interested in both topics as I’ve actually worked in both areas at one point or another. Big project in Operations, but think it will be something worthwhile. After this semester, only 21 more hours to go which is a little over half way done. Did I mention I am having the biggest party ever when I graduate? Its going to have bands, clowns, donkeys, the whole shebang. And then my wife and i are going to Vancouver for a while. Its these prizes that keep me going. that and an MBA.

The break was a short-lived reprieve from the normal weekends being consumed by projects and reading. So I actually got to spend time with the fam (Dylan got to meet his father) and catch up on the baseball season to witness the Braves falling behind because they have the equivalent pitching staff of one of the Little League world series combatants. I thought the Mark Teixeira trade was going to turn the tide, but it turns out he can’t pitch as well as play first base and the Braves pitching staff is brutal beyond Hudson and Smoltz. I am sort of surprised they didn’t attempt to resurrect Steve Avery or something cuz he can’t be as bad as the 4th and 5th starters they are using. Why not go to a 4 man rotation? Can it be any worse?

On the music front, been listening to the new Spoon album “Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga..” Go get it, its quality. Also, been on a Velvet Underground kick with their first 4 albums in heavy rotation. White Light/ White Heat is some crazy stuff.

And last weekend I saw the movie “Superbad”, which is the first movie in a theatre I’ve seen all year. My wife gave me a get out of jail free card for the nite so I went with some friends. Its hysterical, if you like insanely immature, crude high-school boy humor. and of course, i do. The kid from Arrested Development (Michael Cera) is crazy funny as is Jonah Hill, but McLuvin takes the cake. While you are at it…rent the first 3 seasons of Arrested Development, one of the funniest tv shows of all time. You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

