Newest Toy

After having my 20 gb original generation iPod for the last 5 years, I decided to finally step it up. So I headed over to the Mac store at Crabtree and went all out and got the 80 gb version. I have a lot of music, over a 100 gb worth (the BMG memberships in high school and college were just obscene). So I couldn’t even get all the music on there, but I did put about 65 gb worth and left it open for new stuff down the road. I also have all my audiobooks like David Sedaris and the Bob Dylan Chronicles on there. Along with my language audiobooks for Chinese and Spanish. Also, now I have videos like David Chappelle and the Office, just in case I am ever on a plane or just bored somewhere. Its loaded.

A few months ago I used to have a wildly popular segment on this blog with my Daily Tunes from the randomness that is the shuffle feature on the ipod. Unfortunately, in recent months my tape deck in my car (which the ipod played thru) met its untimely end, so the tunes were no more on the way to work. The new pod was purchased with a new Griffin iTrip FM transmitter which does the trick nicely. I got one of the auto ones so I don’t have to mess around with any software or anything. The tunes have returned. And there was much rejoicing.

This week I am determined to listen to some albums I haven’t listened to in a while, and decided to share:

Monday – Sly & the Family Stone – Fresh

Tuesday – David Bowie – Aladdin Sane

Wednesday – Neil Young – Zuma

Thursday – Whiskeytown – Faithless Street

Friday – The Velvet Underground – The Velvet Underground & Nico

Sly was sublime today.

2 responses to “Newest Toy

  1. Welcome back to the iFamily Jim. Sly Stone…can’t think of a better inaugural album for your new ‘Pod.

  2. I still don’t get the iPod thing. I’ve got Winamp on my laptop and a small external USB drive (120 GB) that I store my tunes on… that said it ain’t all that mobile.. thus why I have a couple 2 GB SD cards to go in my PPC (which I hope to upgrade to a smart phone soon)

Leave a Reply

