The cost of vacation

So I took a couple of days off to soak in some sun, drink some beers, and laugh with my friends down at Sunset Beach, NC.

Invariably though I come back to reality and realize that there is a true opportunity cost of taking a vacation. I have about 200 emails to sift through with various folks around the globe asking for a million things. By the way, apparently the rest of the world doesn’t celebrate the 4th of July. shocking.
My big project is essentially on hold when I am not working and slips a day for everyday I am not online. Its maddening. Its almost not worth taking a vacation since I have to work about 18 hours a day for 2 or 3 days just to get to the point that I was before I left for vacation, which was already on the brink of insanity. Its so easy to say you need a life-work balance, but damn near impossible to figure out how that really can exist.

Eventhough I now find myself underneath mountains of work, it was worth it to spend time with a lot of old friends and blow up stuff on the 4th. Quite a spectacle of explosives and all detonated before law enforcement could confiscate. Good times.

And…I get to do it all over again in Hilton Head and Charleston next week. Guess I am a glutton for punishment.

Leave a Reply

