Chillin like Bob Dylan

Music for a Wednesday
1) Mr. Bob Dylan – Visions of Johanna

2) The Stills – Changes Are No Good

3) Pearl Jam – Elderly Lady Behind the Counter in a Small Town

4) The Gourds – Two Girls

5) Damien Rice – When Doves Cry (Prince cover off a live bootleg from 2003)

very quality set. the Prince cover was right on time, only bad part it was part of a collage of a song, and was broken up by the Ipod randomness. On the full bootleg that particular song morphs from "When Doves Cry" to Led Zep's "Babe, I'm Gonna Leave You"…and I think they both have the same chords Am-G-F, eventhough you'd think the songs have absolutely nothing in common on the surface.
In another music tangent…our clock radio has Van Morrison's "Astral Weeks" album in there (been there for over 6 months) and wakes us up everyday at like 5:45am. Its funny that I hear that album every day but never really spent any time absorbing what the lyrics were saying….until today. Sometimes I let like 3 songs play or so, until Van goes nuts during "Sweet Thing". Today though, I sat there and focused on the title track. In sort of an ephipany moment I thought I had it figured out. I don't believe there is any truely correct interpretation of any of these songs, as most of them seem sort of mystical in nature, and likely depend on the listeners frame of mind, and how many drinks they've consumed. Luckily at 5:45 am, no drinks for me, so I paid attention.

And here is what I think its about…I think it is based on the character's soul leaving its human body and transcending into spirit. Leaving the physical world and moving into the spiritual, and enjoying the rebirth (in sort of a Budhist way). What got me thinking was the line about "Talkin' to Huddie Ledbetter." For those that don't know Ledbetter, he was better known as the old blues artist from the 20's called Leadbelly. I was thinking that to Van Morrison, this might be the kind of music they play in Heaven. And that is sort of what got me in that line of thought with the lyrics. The character in the song was ascending into heaven, while his body lay in the physical world with family members paying their last respects. Lines like "Takin good care of your boy, Seein' he's got clean clothes" got me thinking that he's telling his wife to take care of the children since he has left the physical world. The other interesting aspect is that it seems the character is pleading to his loved one to find him in the spiritual afterlife, as in the line "Could you find me? Would you kiss-a my eye?" Anyways…thought I'd share as I love songs like this that have like a billion meanings and really up to the eye of the beholder. Thinking about all of this got me energized to take on the day, and really that is why I love music so much. 

One response to “Chillin like Bob Dylan

  1. Astral Weeks, is, hands down, my favorite piece of music. I can’t do it justice, but once a week I have to sit back and listen to it end to end.
    Here’s what my buddy Jimmy Guterman wrote about it. This is a transcendent album that seems a litmus test of the kind of personalities I’m drawn to. They like it, I like them.
    http://www.headbutler.com/music/van_morrison_2.asp

Leave a Reply

