My new gig and other assorted items of interest

Greetings to all my loyal readers (all 3 of you)…

Its been a while and for that I apologize. Lot of things going on…

1) I switched jobs recently. I am now working at a fantastic advertising/pr/communications/interactive agency in Raleigh called Capstrat. Yes, I made the plunge to the agency world. Its definitely an adjustment (billable hours) but one I think we will offer me a different set of challenges and a chance to do some interesting things in web marketing/analytics. Really, really excited. Being around people paid to be creative and the unique workplace has been energizing in a way that I needed at this point in my life. That being said, it was tough to leave a lot of my colleagues that I worked with at Lenovo. I’ve been at IBM/Lenovo for almost 10 years and largely its all I know professionally and with it all the relationships that were built up over that time. I will always miss the people there, but needed a different path.

So what am I doing at Capstrat? Basically I am here to set up a worldclass analytics program to not only help Capstrat measure and optimize campaigns and sites that we create but also work with clients in helping them measure their business. In addition to offering guidance into what needs to be measured, we’ll also have the capacity to help deploy tools (Omniture, Google Analytics, etc) as well as maintain (or improve) them. I’ve met a lot of companies over the years that already have web analytics solutions in place but either have it set up wrong or don’t know how to use it. I plan on helping those companies.  On top of that, a majority of companies lack internal staff with expertise in web analytics and we can help by acting as a virtual team member to help with reporting, analysis, and optimization. If your company needs help in these areas, please feel free to contact me or go to capstrat.com. OK, sales pitch over. :)

2) As part of #1, I am immersing myself in what Google Analytics has to offer as a lot of our clients are using it, so I figured it might be a good idea for me to become really good at it. As a result, I took the certification test last week and passed…so now I am certifiable. I have a post in the works about my impressions of using GA after years of Omniture experience. There are definitely good things and trade-offs as well. Hope to post more within a week on that. I also plan of taking a lot of time learning some tools I haven’t dealt with in the past such as Yahoo Analytics, Unica, and Webtrends to see what they have to offer.

3) Been reading Avinash Kaushik‘s excellent 2nd book, Web Analytics 2.0. Its been refreshing to read especially during the transitional period I am in now. I’ve been reading it almost as it was a playbook on how to approach new clients where I don’t know too much about the business. It offers step by step instructions on the process of analytics which is helpful even for people that have been doing it as long as I have. Additionally, I think Avinash has great views on campaign attribution as well as the big topic of the day, social media measurement. Its a must read for anyone wanting to get into web analytics or marketing in general in 21st century and because Avinash is about as passionate (and humorous) as anyone in this space. As a side-note whenever I mention Avinash’s name, traffic spikes on this blog (from 3 to 6), coincidence?

4) Finally, but not leastly (is that a word?)…I’m going to be a father again in late November. Super excited, but also not mentally prepared for the sleeplessness! As a result of the late nights, maybe I’ll write more?

So there ya go…you have a quick synopsis of what I am doing. Once I get my head on straight I hope to right a lot more than I have.

5 responses to “My new gig and other assorted items of interest

  1. Congratulations on the new gig Jim!

    It is always hard to leave a long time job, but I think you are going to have a lot of fun at Capstrat.

    Congrats on the second baby (now I can get a picture of your 2.0 with my 2.0 book! :)).

    Avinash.

  2. I echo Avinash’s congratulations on both counts. I’m very much looking forward to hearing your continued insights. It has been great working with you and I hope we’ll continue to hear from you frequently on Twitter, blogs, and elsewhere in the web analytics and Omniture communities!

  3. Thanks for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your further post thank you once again.

  4. Good day! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog
    platform are you using for this website? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had
    problems with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Leave a Reply

